Love = Acceptance

fullsizeoutput_567

We all know that a large component of being body positive is learning to accept who you are and loving who you are no matter what; no ifs, ands or buts. When you learn that about yourself, the next step is teaching it to others. You must surround yourself with people who support your journey. They too must accept you as you are. If they can do that, then you know their love is real.

fullsizeoutput_589

Any kind of love, whether it’s about loving yourself or others or the love you receive from others, must be unconditional to be true.  You shouldn’t say, “I’ll love myself when I lose twenty pounds” nor should you accept that condition from anyone else. If your significant other is telling you, “You have to go on a diet if you want to be with me”, then he/she is not worthy of you. Do you hear and understand that? HE/SHE IS NOT WORTHY OF YOU, NOT THE OTHER WAY AROUND. If people say they love you and then in the next breath tell you you’re fat/stupid/ugly, then that is not love!

fullsizeoutput_583

It’s hard to let go of someone who we thought loved us. It is hard to get out of difficult relationships that are damaging to our well-being. It is scary, daunting and sometimes dangerous. Living a lie is bad too so find support from true friends and family, support groups, counsellors, shelters or church clergy and fellow members. People are there to help you. You only have to be brave enough to ask.

fullsizeoutput_58a

Know your worth so others know it too. Don’t accept anything less than you deserve. Find people who know you are good enough. Don’t let anyone convince you that you are anything less then amazing. Be Pretty, Plus and Proud and the ones who really love you will be proud to be counted as one of the people you call friend or family.

fullsizeoutput_56c

All images courtesy of queenbeefashionista4 on Instagram.

2 thoughts on “Love = Acceptance

  1. Shayla Em says:

    Omg, when I was in my late teens, early 20s I was trapped in a relationship where my ex boyfriend told me I wore tankini bathing suits because I was a tank. I wish I could go back to my younger self and tell her to run because he ruined my self-esteem. Slowly but surely, I learned to love myself and still learning each day. Such a beautiful post. Someone needed this boost.

    Like

    • Ena says:

      Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I’m glad you’re finding your way back to believing in your beauty! Shame on that man for making you feel that way!

      Like

Leave a Reply

