Early Inspiration

img_3451

Image courtesy of queenbeefashionista4 on Instagram

Friends come into your life for a reason. I believe God sees a need in our life and sends someone to us to fill that need and to get us through whatever hurdle or difficulty we’re experiencing in that moment in time.

A few years ago I met a woman who worked in a plus size women’s clothing retailer. At first we were merely customer and worker acquaintances. Gradually over time we became very close friends. At this time in her life she had recently experienced the passing on of her sister and she disclosed to me that I reminded her of her sister. For me, she was the first person, other than my husband, who made me feel good about myself. She taught me that plus size or not, everyone is beautiful. She got me started on my self-love journey.

I believe we were meant to be friends at a time when we both needed what the other could give us. For reasons that I won’t get into, our friendship wavered and we went our separate ways.

I am happy to say we have found our way back to each other. So like the quote above,  we’ve forgotten and forgiven the past, appreciate the opportunity to be friends again and look forward to the future with anticipation of all the wonderful moments we will share.

She was, is and will always be the single most important factor that propelled me to see myself as a beautiful and worthy woman.

Tonight I am feeling Pretty, Plus and Proud but most of all thankful. J, love you my friend, my soul sister! 

2 thoughts on “Early Inspiration

  1. purelandsutras says:

    I think it is really excellent that you started this blog, the twisted, vain and standardized appearance standards promoted by the media nowadays is simply ludicrous, I believe that it is important for everyone to feel esteemed and be encouraged to shine in their own unique way.

    Perhaps you would be interested in the film Gattaca, I wrote a review on it but I strongly recommend you watch it.

    My review:
    https://purelandsutras.wordpress.com/2016/10/26/the-moral-of-gattaca-1997/

    Like

Leave a Reply

