Seeking Help is a Strength

Many people think that asking for help is a sign of weakness. They assume if they have to ask for help, then some how they have failed; they weren’t good enough to get the job done alone.

Today I am telling you that is a lie! Seeking help is not a weakness but a strength. It lets people know that you are not so high on yourself that you think you are perfect and incapable of mistakes or not having the knowledge to accomplish the task set before you. We all have areas that we are experts in and other areas not so much. For example, I love writing and was always good at English in school. Math on the other hand was my nemesis. I absolutely hated it, barely passed it and am glad I no longer have to deal with it! However, it was part of my school life and I had to learn how to get through it so I asked for help. Getting help allowed me to pass the course, graduate and move on into real life. I freely admit today that cooking is not my strong suit either. I can throw something together if I plan and work it out but it’s not a task I particularly find enjoyment in. My daughter on the other hand loves to cook and is amazing at it! I do love to bake while she prefers the main course. I ask her for cooking advice and she asks me to proofread her essays. We each ask for help in our areas of weakness and share advice in our areas of strength. No shame in that!

Be Pretty, Plus and Proud and ask for help if you need it whether it’s something as simple as help with homework or something more complicated like physical or mental health. Getting help only makes you stronger and better! You are still more then good enough; you’re amazing!

 

8 thoughts on “Seeking Help is a Strength

Leave a Reply

