Show Your Appreciation!

Once again I have an email course to thank for the inspiration for this blog post. Check out http://www.uncustomary.org  This course is about the importance of being grateful and how to show appreciation on a daily basis.

We have so many things to be grateful for! It’s easy to forget the things we should be appreciative of since we see and experience them on a daily basis. The simple things become part of our landscape or the background to our lives and we become blind to their effect or importance.

To lead a truly happy life we must take the time to be aware of everything we have that makes life rich, full and enjoyable. Take time to watch the sun rise, listen to the early morning bird songs, smell the roses and acknowledge the effect these things have on your life and maybe how empty your world would be without these wonders of nature.

Take a moment to thank the people in your life who love and support you through good times and bad. In this age of social media it’s easy to express gratitude through emails, text messages and notes on Facebook. Maybe try a thank you the old-fashioned way through a note sent in the mail or a phone call. It’s imperative that people know they are important and appreciated for the roles they play in your life that makes living easier and happier.

I challenge you to take some time to write a list of things you are grateful for. They should include items from any or all of the following categories; yourself from what your body does for you to your talents and unique qualities, your past experiences, your lifestyle and the priviledges it affords you and your surroundings.

I’ll end with this quote from Oprah Winfrey (borrowed from http://www.uncustomary.org)

Be Pretty, Plus and Proud and “Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you will never, ever have enough”

IMG_1789

Speaking of being grateful: Thank you to everyone who has been my support, my inspiration and my cheerleaders in my journey to be more body positive and my work in sharing that message to anyone on a similar journey! The stories women have shared with me, the guidance from women who have been on the journey longer then I and the kindness shown to me, the new girl in town, has truly touched my heart and makes me so happy that I started this chapter of my life, loving, accepting and embracing my unique and beautiful self!

(Image used with permission from Instagram account queenbeefashionista4).

4 thoughts on “Show Your Appreciation!

Leave a Reply

