Mother’s Day

Belated Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there! For me it is a day of mixed emotions. Being a mother has been my greatest joy and I am honoured and blessed to be the mother of a “little” girl who is growing up into a kind, strong, smart and beautiful young woman. Every day I marvel at how fast she’s growing up and there have been many days I wish I could stop time so my girl could remain little just a bit longer. I miss the Barbie, Build A Bear, make-believe playing child but I am learning to adjust and enjoy the company and conversation of my fifteen year old teenager.

With the joy I feel at being a Mom, there is also a bit of sadness that my mother is no longer here to celebrate Mother’s Day. June will mark her ten-year anniversary since she passed away. I still miss her every day. I feel sad that my daughter isn’t growing up knowing her grandmother and I know my mother would have found great joy in watching her only grandchild grow up. I also miss my Mother in-law. She too has passed away and I miss her wise and kind spirit. I know there is a time and season for everything; children growing up and parents passing on but sometimes it’s a little hard on the heart.

IMG_1042

My Mom

With all that being said I did enjoy a nice Mother’s Day; being spoiled, nice gifts and special time spent with family. It’s nice to know I’m appreciated and valued. Mother’s Day should be celebrated every day, lol!

IMG_1049

My Mother’s Day treats!

I also want to say that to me Mother’s Day is not meant as a celebration for just the women who have given birth. It’s a day meant to acknowledge anyone who cares and nurtures children; step parents, single Dads, foster parents, adoptive parents, grandmothers, aunts, God parents. It’s a day to say thank you for being there for the children entrusted to your care. If you fall into this category pat yourself on the back for doing a job you don’t have to do but one you have chosen to do.

Be Pretty, Plus and Proud of yourself for being the best Mom you know how. No one gets the job done perfectly as children do not come with instruction manuals. Don’t judge yourself to harshly for “mistakes” made. Just be the best version of a mom you know how to be and all will turn out okay.

Leave a Reply

