Turning 50!

Yes I’m turning 50 on Sunday, April 23rd. I’ve been mulling over this fact trying to decide how I feel about turning 1/2 a century old. To be honest I’m not overjoyed but do realize it’s only a number and it shouldn’t really mean anything.

I guess what bothers me is that when I was young, time seemed to move so slowly. Remember being 18 and you just couldn’t wait until you could move out from under the watchful eyes of your parents; to have your own place where you could do whatever you wanted with whomever you wanted (keep your thoughts clean, lol)? Time seemed to be at a standstill back then.

Now, it’s not like that anymore. Days, weeks, months and years seem to fly by and I wonder from one day to the next what I’ve been doing in all that time gone by. I struggled so much in my youth trying to find a place where I fit in. Now that I’m older I feel like I’m only just hitting my stride; finding out my purpose and loving who I am. I’m afraid I won’t have nearly enough time to really enjoy who I’ve become or do the things I want to now that I’ve become confident enough to venture out and do things I wouldn’t have dreamed possible in my youth.

I guess I should take on my sister’s attitude; having a birthday is better than the alternative (that is not being around for another birthday). I know I must wake each day with an attitude of feeling blessed; blessed that I have another day to be with those I love and doing things I love.

So with all that being said, on Sunday I’m going to attempt to face the day with optimism and gratefulness. I will Be Pretty, Plus and Proud to be turning 50 and I think I look pretty darn good for an “old” lady!

IMG_0672

Looking good for an “old” gal!

2 thoughts on “Turning 50!

Leave a Reply

