Happy New Year!

Another year out and a new year in. Is it just me or are the years going by faster the older I get?

A lot happened in 2015. There were many difficult, emotional moments that made it seem like 2015 was a bad year but as I look back there were good times too that must not be forgotten amongst the rough days.

We had to move both my father and father in-law into nursing homes as declining health made it impossible for them to remain at home. As a result both much loved family homes had to be sold. Those were tough moments. It’s hard to let go of the places you grew up in; to imagine strangers running through the halls, different paint colours on the walls, different pictures of other families hanging in the places our memories hung. I’ve had to think very hard that they are just buildings and that the memories created in them are still in my heart and mind. I still have photographs to look at to help me remember all the parties and family gatherings that gave me so much happiness and joy throughout the years.

While making arrangements to move my Dad, I got to spend a whole month with my sister and while we shed many tears we also shared many laughs and it was nice being in the same house again (hers) to share meals, good morning and good night greetings and to have long chats like we did when we were kids. That is one of my highlight moments of 2015.

Also I finally worked up the courage to begin this blog and share my story, my thoughts, feelings, opinions on being body positive. This year brought me insight and self love and for that reason alone I have to say 2015 wasn’t all bad. I met new friends both online and in life that I would not have met otherwise and for that I am truly grateful.

I had to watch my daughter struggle through difficult teen issues but the last few months of this year she has finally found peace, happiness and her true place in this world. I am so happy that she’s happier, making new friends, enjoying and doing well in school, embracing new lifestyle changes and truly becoming a lovely young lady.

So with that, I say good-bye to 2015 with no regrets. I, with family and friends, did what had to be done, found peace and happiness in many parts of my life and I look forward to what 2016 has in store for me!

What parts of 2015 were you happy about? What are you happy to let go of? What are you looking forward to in 2016? 

Whatever happens in the days and months ahead, remember to Be Pretty, Plus and Proud throughout it all, good or bad.

Leave a Reply

