Growing Up

When you were a child did you wish you were all grown up? Did you long for the day when you had your own home, could live by your own rules no longer under the thumb of Mom or Dad?

Have you heard of the saying, “Be careful of what you wish for.”?

I was a happy child for the most part, playing with my sister, vacations on a beach, swimming in the backyard pool on hot summer days, sledding and building snowmen in the crisp winter, shopping trips with Mom, rides on the ferry with Dad. Ahh, the good old days!

Then the teen years hit and that’s a whole other kettle of fish! How I longed to just get it over with, to be an adult out on my own in the world. I wanted to be free to make my own choices. I dreamed of how much easier life would be.

I was so wrong and regret wishing my youth away. Being an adult is no easier or more free than being a kid, just different rules. Don’t get me wrong. I love my life and the choices I’ve made. Sometimes though, I long to sit on the floor and dress a Barbie doll without worrying of how I’ll get back up. It would be nice to go sledding down a big hill without fear of hitting a bump and putting my back out. Or what about eating a bag of chips and not even think about cholesterol levels? What about all the chores Mom or Dad did that you took for granted; laundry, cooking, paying bills, shovelling, cleaning? Now the shoe is on the other foot.

The ignorance of youth is a beautiful thing! If you’re young never wish for the next day to come. Enjoy your youth while you have it as it slips away so quickly. Never wish for your children to grow up because they will some day, much sooner than you realize. Then you’ll miss them and you’ll wish they were babies again. Finally, if you’re an older gal like myself don’t make yourself old before your time. Cover the grey hair, wear something in style, dance while you can. Be silly, play and laugh every day. Don’t worry about what others think of you and live your life to the tune of your own drum. Doing all this of course in a safe and healthy manner (n0 heart attacks or slipped discs please).

Be Pretty, Plus and Proud and live life like a child; without a care in the world, just happy to be. 

Have you played today?

Leave a Reply

