Camouflage

I love makeup especially lip and cheek colours. I love to play with eyeshadow and different ways to line the eyes to make them pop. Sometimes I feel like wearing a subtle lip colour; other times not so subtle going for a bold red or deep coral or bright pink. I’ve always liked makeup but not always for the “right” reasons.

I used to think makeup would help me blend in because then I felt I was the same as every other girl out there. I wanted to hide behind a false exterior so people wouldn’t notice the sad eyes, bad skin or shame in being the “bigger” girl in the class.

I’ve since learned in my more mature years that makeup is not for hiding. I’ve become brave stepping out the door without makeup if I’m feeling lazy and don’t want to be bothered with the makeup routine. I’ve learned not to really care what people think of me with or without makeup because the exterior persona is not the most important part of me.

Makeup is for fun; maybe to accentuate an already beautiful face. Most of the time I do take the effort to “put my face on” because it adds to my confidence. It helps me feel more beautiful. It helps me feel like I’m ready for the challenges of the day but that is a choice I make for myself.

In the end makeup is a personal choice. Either you like it or you don’t. Either you wear it daily or only occasionally; but makeup doesn’t make you any more or less beautiful of a woman. You don’t have to wear makeup to be a better person, just like you don’t have to lose weight, change your hair colour, wear glasses or contacts lenses or wear new or old clothes because you are good enough just the way you are!

Choosing not to wear makeup today and feeling totally Pretty, Plus and Proud!

Do you like makeup? Why or why not? Your thoughts on today’s post? Have a fabulous weekend!

2 thoughts on “Camouflage

  1. micrapol says:

    It’s funny how we wear the most makeup when we’re youngest (and probably need it the least). As a middle-aged woman, I don’t wear it often (and I could probably use it more!). I guess what is significantly different in my use of makeup is that I used to be “building a face” based on what I saw as being beautiful (what I was trying to attain). These days, I have fun and try to enhance my features.

    I’m always sad when I see young women with a ton of unnecessary makeup on their faces – hiding their natural beauty.

    You’re right – makeup can give us confidence. I remember my mother would never leave the house without her “armor” – lipstick and a big smile!

    Like

    • rfdumais says:

      I couldn’t agree more with your comment. i definitely wore heavier makeup when i was young but like you said it was an armor like i was going into battle. I guess in those tough growing up years it felt like a battle wanting to fit in but not knowing how. Now i like to play but don’t use it as a way to hide. My mother was the same; always had face powder and her pink lipstick. Thanks for your thoughtful comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

