Thanksgiving!

It’s Thanksgiving long weekend here in Canada. It’s a time to gather with friends and family and give thanks for all the blessings in our lives. For me there are many people, things, opportunities to be thankful for.

I am a very lucky woman to have a husband who loves me, curves and all, who has never been anything but supportive of all my ideas. He has been my shoulder to lean on in times of weakness; he’s been my listening ears when I feel the need to rant and rave; he makes me laugh when I feel like crying; he is my true soul mate and best friend!

I am blessed with a beautiful, kind, strong, smart, compassionate daughter. God truly gave me an angel from Heaven and there are no words in the English vocabulary to accurately describe my love for her.

I am blessed with a loving Dad who’s still with us on this earth. Although he’s often confused with dementia he still knows who his family is and he really is the cutest man ever! He has the best smile, the kindest heart and gentle soul. I am proud to call him my father.

I have a sister who’s also a friend. We’ve have shared many laughs over the years and shed many tears as well. We support each other when either of us needs a little extra helping hand and I know in the years to come as we grow into old age I’ll always have her back and she’ll always have mine.

I have a brother and through unfortunate circumstances we are estranged right now. My hope and wish for him is that he some day finds his way home back to family. I loved him then, I love him still.

I have many cousins near and far who have shared many moments in my journey. I appreciate each and every one of them for what they do for me, for who they are to me. I love them and am so grateful for their relationships in my life.

I’m very lucky to be part of a wonderful in law family as well who support each other and prove every day what the word “family” means. They took me into their lives so lovingly and constantly remind me I am part of them. My father in law like my Dad is aging but always has a song on his lips, a joke to tell and a generous spirit not dimmed by poor memory and failing health. I am blessed by his love.

I have friends who have proved the true meaning of friendship by always being there when I need them. I hope they feel I have done the same for them.

I am blessed with the unconditional love of my dog Maggie. No matter what I say or do she’s ready to give puppy kisses and roll over for belly rubs. I know inside there is the soul and heart of a human for she always knows when I need her most. She’s my fury baby!

I have a beautiful home, food on my table, clothes on my back, heat when it’s cold, air conditioning when it’s hot. I can see the changing colour of leaves in the fall and the deep blue of the sea. I can hear the notes of a soothing lullabye and the tweet of birds in the trees. I can feel the warm summer breeze on my skin and the cold splash of the waves at the beach. I can hold the hand of my love and feel the kiss of his lips. I can walk on my own two feet despite a battle with MS. I can care for my family.  I have been blessed with the ability to be creative in my writing; to be able to reach out and help others in need.

My list could go on for I have much to be thankful for. Last but certainly not least I am grateful to all of the people who take time everyday to read my blog; who take the time to like it or comment. It is your support and encouragement that helps me continue this little project. My hope is that small or big I am touching people’s lives and helping them like others have helped me in this journey we call life.

Whether you celebrate Thanksgiving or not I hope you all take a little time to think of the good things in your life and be ever thankful for their presence! 

What are you thankful for?

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

