Fashion Frustrations

Good morning and Happy Friday!

Question of the day: As a plus size woman, what are some of your greatest sources of frustration?

Perhaps small airplane seats? Tight restaurant booths? Getting a date? Getting a job? Finding clothes that fit, flatter and are affordable? People pointing, staring or making rude comments? Small bathroom stalls? Small dressing rooms?

Every plus size woman has probably dealt with, or continues to deal with, these problems and more.

One of my personal frustrations is plus size retail designers who seem to assume that every plus size woman is 10 feet tall and has big feet. Plus size clothes are usually too long for my short 5 ft. 1 inch body, so on top of the usual higher cost of the clothing, I have to pay for alterations. I have to say, I’m liking the current crop top trend because crop tops are usually not crop on me! This means that, for once, they land at my waist instead of flowing down to my knees. Shoes are always too big for my size 6 foot. With the wider width, and most shoes at plus size stores starting at size 7, my little feet end up going for a swim.

Share your pet peeves and solutions/tips & tricks if you have any!

Have an awesome weekend, and as always, be bold! Be beautiful! Be Pretty, Plus and Proud!

P.S. Be sure to check out Monday’s post! Hint: Styling it!

Off to do research for Monday's post!

Off to do research for Monday’s post!

8 thoughts on “Fashion Frustrations

  1. Deanna says:

    I did 7 minutes at a slow run on the treadmill and 15 minutes of walking after work, then promptly came home to rest my tired body in a hot tub. It’s been an active week and I’m feeling the emotional and physical drain. Thanks for posting, you always put a smile on my face and your energy lifts me.

    Like

  2. Schnauzevoll says:

    Ok admitting, when I was plus size (was double my weight a few years back) I was fine with people staring and pointing at me (since they do since I was 11 years old and turned towards goth fashion I was already used to that) but yes, clothes. I didn’t have the problems of things being too short but with never fitting at all. Most of the things looked like bags – bust, arms, waist, hips or ankles something always was way too tight or too loose as if the designers did not even take a look at bodyshapes at all! Then again that helped me getting motivated in sewing even more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

